Newbie form OH, w/ a question

Just find your way to Trad Rag? Stop in and say, "Hello" and join us around the campfire.
TallP
Spike Bull
Newbie form OH, w/ a question

Post by TallP » Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:54 am

Hi all,

I'm just getting started back into this bow thing. I used to just shoot around the yard and local woods as a kid. Now getting back due to my 13 y.o. daughter wanting to start shooting recurve.

I'm looking for advice for what bows would be a good match for me. My usename says it all, @ 6'7" I find it hard to get things that "fit". I have been measured to determine that I have a draw length of 32". I am looking for a recurve and want to be able to hunt once I get to a competent level of shooting.

I almost forgot to add this part, I am LH

Thanks for any advice

Greywolf
Global Moderator

Re: Newbie form OH, w/ a question

Post by Greywolf » Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:06 am

First of all welcome......

6'7" wow thats as almost as tall as my son, Ok, to answer your question, I'd suggest a longbow, look for one at 68 inches or maybe 70 inches. Bowhunting legend Howard Hill had a 32" natural draw. but shot at a 29 inch draw, a traditional bow draws less than a compound due to the form. Compound is more stand up straight and stretch out, longbow shooting form is more hunker down and is sometimes 1-3 inches less depending on your form and shooting style. Being left handed isn't as much of a concern as it use to be.

I'd suggest you look at the Bear Montana longbow, or you might have to go with a longer custom bow, if you really do draw 32 inch. the "hunker down" shooting style as I mentioned makes you draw less.
Which ever route you decide, the draw weight is the important thing, a bow that draws too heavy will result in poor shooting form. A repeatable form is what traditional shooting is all about, so pick a bow that is easy to pull and hold for 5-7 seconds with out shakin like a dog passen a peach seed.