Info wanted

Welcome to the Fur Shack! Share your experiences, tip, and tricks.

Info wanted

Postby Horner » Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:25 pm

Can someone tell me a good book to get to teach yourself how to trap???????? I have always wanted to trap, but know one does it much anymore. That is that I know anyway.
Thanks,
Horner
Horner
Spike Bull

Re: Info wanted

Postby pintail_drake2004 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:16 pm

Hey. I learned to trap by trail and error, reading, watching, listening, etc. It is more that just one method on learning. At 23 yo, i just finished up my 18th trapping season and I am still learning. Look into magazines (Fur-Fish-Game), Trapper and Predator Caller, American Trapper, etc. Get yourself a good video. Go to Minnesota Trapline Products (http://www.minntrapprod.com/) and check out the videos. I have had many different videos over the years and i pick up something new from each one.
Pick yourself up a few traps, watch the videos, read the magazines, and practice making sets (and disassembling them and doing it again) in the off season. Before season comes in here, I will go out a week or 2 before and practice making my sets that i use for different animals. I try to spend less than 10 minutes in any one location. Time=Money in this game. Learn proper trap prep methods, how to handle live game, how to dispatch humanely, what market are you going to cater too? Taxidermy, fur market, private sector, personal use, etc...

Any questions, give me a hollar

Pintail
pintail_drake2004
Raghorn Bull

Postby 2-BIG » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:48 pm